Posted by: genghisprawn | October 24, 2008

Siemens High School Science Competition Results!

Earlier today, the results for the Siemens Competition in Math, Science & Technology — “the nation’s most prestigious teen science prize” — were announced.

A record-setting 1893 students entered with a total of 1205 individual and team projects.  Out of this pool, the largest yet by 10%, outstanding entries were selected as semifinalists and regional finalists.  The regional finalists, around 100 in total, will be called to compete at one of six Regional Competitions in November.  From each region, one team and one individual will advance to the national competition in New York, putting them in the running for six scholarship prizes ranging from $10,000 to $100,000.  A live webcast of the National Finalist Award Presentation will be viewable at the Siemens Competition website on December 8, 2008, at 9:30 AM U.S. Eastern Time.

Projects may be in any of the following categories (click to read sample abstracts):

Descriptions of past winners’ projects are viewable at the competition website.  Here’s a video on the 2007-2008 national finalists:

That said, now seems like the right time … to announce … that I’m a regional finalist!

I learned four hours ago that my project in Biology, “Morphological Phylogeography of a Giant American River Prawn, Macrobrachium carcinus (Decapoda: Caridea: Palaemonidae)”, had been selected, and I’m still absolutely elated.  Joining me in the Region 6 competition at Georgia Tech will be my friend and classmate Varun Bansal.

Seven other students attending Thomas Jefferson High School for Science and Technology were semifinalists.  A big congratulations to them and everyone else who entered!

All Semifinalists

All Regional Finalists

Expect to read more about my project and the competition process here on Amphidrome.

Responses

  1. Congratulations!! It sounds like a great project. I’m excited to see a systematic biology piece make it this far. Good luck at regionals! Looking forward to hearing more about it.

  2. Thanks!

  3. Very cool! Good luck.

  4. […] Crabs, and Crazy Ants: A Trophic Link First, a small digression: the regional finals of the Siemens Competition in Math, Science, and Technology went well. Though the judges ultimately opted for a different individual project (James […]

  5. Hi there I am so excited I found your webpage, I really found you by error, while I was researching on Bing for something else, Anyhow I am here now and would just
    like to say cheers for a fantastic post and a all round exciting blog (I also
    love the theme/design), I don’t have time to go through it all at the moment but I have
    saved it and also included your RSS feeds, so when I have time I will be back to read a great deal more, Please do keep
    up the fantastic work.

  6. But usually changing engine oil can be quite a small headache and
    an expensive matter. Sharing your experience along with your audience.
    Search-Engine companies quickly realized they can market area pay-per-click style.

  7. We stumbled over here different website and thought I may as
    well check things out. I like what I see so now i am following you.
    Look forward to going over your web page yet again.

  8. I every time used to read paragraph in news papers but now as I am a user of web therefore from now I
    am using net for articles or reviews, thanks to web.

  9. Simply desire to say your article is as amazing.
    The clearness in your post is just cool and i can assume you’re an expert on this subject.
    Fine with your permission allow me to grab your RSS feed to keep up to date with forthcoming post.
    Thanks a million and please continue the rewarding work.


Leave a Reply

Categories

